Derec Jones

dj-ex-twitterDerec Jones is the author of seven (eight) books here at Opening Chapter.


Bums  –  is a Crime Fiction Novel featuring ex Punk New Age Traveller Detective Inspector Frank Lee investigating the death of the headmaster of the biggest school in the county whose naked dead body is found in a dingy back lane by two down-and-outs.

Boys from the Backfields follows Mick, who as a 13 year old in 1963 witnesses a murder that overshadows his life, until half a century later he returns again to the council estate in South Wales where he was brought up, determined to make sense of what it all means.

Cheats and Liars is an exploration of success and its fallout set deep in the psyche of Brian Llewelyn, ‘The Greatest Living Artist in Wales’

The Three Bears has received acclaim from many as a perfect example of ‘voice’, it is a helter-skelter ride through a life told through the distinctive “inner” voice of the narrator.


Beats – the second book in the trilogy featuring DI Frank Lee

Bones – the final book in the trilogy featuring DI Frank Lee

This is it – A book written to a target readership of one – that’s the writer himself. We’re not yet sure whether we will release this as a public publication. We may just print one copy and keep it in a drawer. This is it is a novel, an autobiography, a fantasy, a collections of musings and and and – it’s sort of indescribable:  ‘it’s like I banged my head against the keyboard until all the tangled up mess of it ended up in a document.’ says the author


The Words in Me is a collection of poetry that explores the form in surprising ways; challenging yet always accessible.


More Words – Selected Poetry


For the Time Being is a bringing together of bits of work including poems, plays, stories, snippets, edited and unedited works-in-progress *published as Derek Wynford Jones


The Walker and other stories is a collection that offer insights into the inner and outer worlds we all inhabit and help us to understand and appreciate each other. NOTE ** SEE BELOW

Dead Flowers and other stories is a new collection of short stories, some previously published in The Walker – now edited and updated with many new stories added *published as Derek Wynford Jones



More on Derec’s website

Our authors